The Philosophy Department annually offers three awards for exceptional work in Philosophy: The Evelyn Barker Book Prize, the Glenn Trawinski Student Leadership Award, and the Samuel J. Baum Memorial Prize for Excellence in Philosophy. All three of these awards are presented at the Annual Student Recognition Day ceremonies.

The Evelyn Barker Book Prize is given for superior academic performance by a junior or senior in the Department of Philosophy.

The Glenn Trawinski Student Leadership Award is given to the student who has excelled in service or leadership for the undergraduate Philosophical community.

The Samuel J. Baum Memorial Prize for Excellence in Philosophy was established by Dr. Kevin J. Corcoran to honor the memory of Samuel J. Baum, a 1988 graduate of UMBC. Samuel J. Baum was an enthusiastic student of philosophy and religion who delighted in the pursuit of wisdom and spirited dialogue. This prize is intended to commemorate Sam’s kind and generous spirit and to celebrate the gift of his friendship. It is given to a senior philosophy student who, in the judgment of the UMBC Philosophy department, has shown great promise in the pursuit of philosophy.