Faculty & Staff

Steve Yalowitz
PAHB 454
Associate Professor and Department Chair
410-455-2108
Philosophy of Mind, Psychological Explanation, Free Will, Self-Knowledge
yalowitz@umbc.edu
BA, Oberlin College; Ph.D., Columbia University


Eric Campbell
PAHB 460
Assistant Professor
410-455-2025
Ethics, Metaethics, Normative Psychology, Naturalism, Metanormativity
ecampbel@umbc.edu
BA, University of Texas, Austin; Ph.D., University of California, San Diego


Lisa Cassell
PAHB 461
Assistant Professor
410-455-2038
Epistemology, Decision Theory, Philosophy of Science
lcassell@umbc.edu
B.Comm., Concordia University; MA, University of Western Ontario; PhD, UMass, Amherst


Blake Francis
PAHB 467
Assistant Professor
410-455-6267
Environmental Ethics, Social and Political Philosophy, Normative Ethics, Applied Ethics, Ethics of Technology, History of Political Philosophy
bfrancis@umbc.edu
BA, Northern Arizona University; MA, University of Montana; Ph.D., Stanford University


Michael Nance
PAHB 455
Associate Professor
410-455-2005
German Social and Political Philosophy from Kant to the Present,especially Kant, Fichte, and Hegel; History of Modern Philosophy, 17th – 19th Centuries; Social and Political Philosophy
nance@umbc.edu
BA, Hendrix College; Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania


Jessica Pfeifer
PAHB 462
Associate Professor
410-455-2014
Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Biology, Natural Necessity, Probability
pfeifer@umbc.edu
BA, Wesleyan University; Ph.D., University of California, San Diego


Whitney Schwab
PAHB 463
Associate Professor
410-455-2155
Ancient Philosophy, Epistemology, Explanation
wschwab@umbc.edu
BA, Cornell University; Ph.D., Princeton University


Greg Ealick
PAHB 464
Lecturer
410-455-2010
ealick@umbc.edu
BA, University of Maryland, Baltimore County; MA, University of Maryland, College Park


James Thomas
PAHB 466
Lecturer
410-455-2015
jathomas@umbc.edu
BA ; MA, University of Maryland, College Park


Andrew Bridges
PAHB 458
Instructor
410-455-2005
andrew.bridges@umbc.edu
Critical Thinking
BA ; M.A., University of Maryland, Baltimore County


Daniel Jenkins
PAHB 468
Instructor
410-455-3843
djenki2@umbc.edu
BA ; MA, University of Maryland, Baltimore County


Amy Payne
PAHB 458
Instructor
410-455-3282
Introduction to Philosophy
amypayne@umbc.edu
B.A. University of Maryland, Baltimore County; M.A. University of Pittsburgh


Vanessa Capuano
PAHB 452
Administrative Assistant
410-455-2103
vanessa@umbc.edu
BS, York College of Pennsylvania


Evelyn Barker (1927-2003)
Associate Professor Emerita


Stephen Braude
Professor Emeritus


John Titchener
Associate Professor Emeritus