Faculty & Staff

Steve Yalowitz
Associate Professor and Department Chair
BA, Oberlin College; Ph.D., Columbia University

Philosophy of Mind, Psychological Explanation,
Free Will, Self-Knowledge

yalowitz@umbc.edu
+ 1 410 455 2108
PAHB 454


Eric Campbell
Assistant Professor
BA, University of Texas, Austin;
Ph.D., University of California, San Diego

Ethics, Metaethics, Normative Psychology, Naturalism,
Metanormativity

ecampbel@umbc.edu
+1 410 455 2025
PAHB 460


Lisa Cassell
Assistant Professor
B.Comm., Concordia University; MA, University of Western Ontario; PhD, UMass, Amherst

Epistemology, Decision Theory, Philosophy of Science

lcassell@umbc.edu
+1 410 455 2038
PAHB 461


Blake Francis
Assistant Professor
BA, Northern Arizona University; MA, University of Montana; Ph.D., Stanford University

Environmental Ethics, Social and Political Philosophy, Normative Ethics, Applied Ethics, Ethics of Technology,
History of Political Philosophy

bfrancis@umbc.edu
+1 410 455 6267
PAHB 467


Michael Nance
Associate Professor
BA, Hendrix College; Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania

German Social and Political Philosophy from Kant to the Present, especially Kant, Fichte, and Hegel; History of Modern Philosophy, 17th – 19th Centuries; Social and Political Philosophy

nance@umbc.edu
+1 410 455 2005
PAHB 455


Jessica Pfeifer
Associate Professor
BA, Wesleyan University;
Ph.D., University of California, San Diego

Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Biology,
Natural Necessity, Probability

pfeifer@umbc.edu
+1 410 455 2014
PAHB 462


Whitney Schwab
Associate Professor
BA, Cornell University; Ph.D., Princeton University

Ancient Philosophy, Epistemology, Explanation

wschwab@umbc.edu
+1 410 455 2155
PAHB 463


Greg Ealick
Lecturer
BA, University of Maryland, Baltimore County;
MA, University of Maryland, College Park

ealick@umbc.edu
+1 410 455 2010
PAHB 464

 


James Thomas
Lecturer
BA ; MA, University of Maryland, College Park

jathomas@umbc.edu
+1 410 455 2015
PAHB 466

 


Andrew Bridges
Instructor
BA ; M.A., University of Maryland, Baltimore County

Critical Thinking

andrew.bridges@umbc.edu
+1 410 455 2005
PAHB 458


Daniel Jenkins
Instructor
BA ; MA, University of Maryland, Baltimore County

djenki2@umbc.edu
+1 410 455 3843
PAHB 468


Amy Payne
Instructor
B.A. University of Maryland, Baltimore County;
M.A. University of Pittsburgh

Introduction to Philosophy

amypayne@umbc.edu
+1 410 455 3282
PAHB 458


Vanessa Capuano
Administrative Assistant
BS, York College of Pennsylvania

vanessa@umbc.edu
+1 410 455 2103
PAHB 452


Evelyn Barker (1927-2003)
Associate Professor Emerita


Stephen Braude
Professor Emeritus


John Titchener
Associate Professor Emeritus